hosting companies

Nate has a writeup explaining his choice of hosting providers.  This seems to be an ongoing question with no right answer.  As far as I can tell, if you don’t bitch about your web host, they’re probably doing a great job!

Why I looked at mt(dv), EC2, EngineYard, and RackSpace, but decided to launch my site with TextDrive’s Accelerators

We’ll have to see what his experience is once they move to production.

My needs are a little different.  I can handle the load of my product on a single box, at least for the forseeable future.  What I can’t do is get failover on that single box.  It’s amazing how expensive it is to go from one box to a load balanced pair of backends with a floating IP address.  (I’ll save the topic for DNS load balancing for another post).

One Response to hosting companies

  1. load balancing software

    Hi. Very nice blog. I\’ve been reading your other entries all day long..lol.

Leave a Reply

