JMS Broker Question

I have 3 applications running on my server.  They communicate via JMS.  Works like a champ! (or is it charm?)

I am currently able to run 2 of the applications in a single JVM (we’ll call them Application A & B)

But now when these guys communicate, they have to go out of process to talk to a JMS broker which sends the message right back.  Dumb.  Fortunately, ActiveMQ lets you embed a broker, which makes JMS “as efficient as pure RMI, but with all the usual JMS features of location independence, reliability, load balancing etc.”  Cool!  So far so good.

So I run a single embedded broker in JVM 1 that A&B talk to.  But C (in JVM2) can’t talk to that guy.  So I give the embedded one an external facing TCP connector.  Now C can talk to A/B with a single network (process) hop (previously it was 2).   Not as good as RMI, but better than before.  Still good!

But here’s my dilemma:  I want to bounce JVM1.  If I take it down, my broker goes down too.  So process C (JVM2) loses the connection, can’t queue messages anymore, and has to be taken down too.  Problem.

Anyone have any suggestions for this situation?  Here are my thoughts:

a) I could run an embedded JVM for A&B and a standalone one for C.  That would solve the broker-going-down problem, but means 2 hops for C to get to A/B.

b) I could run an embedded broker with both in-memory and TCP connections AND a standalone broker.  Then I would configure process A to use embedded TCP by default and failover to standalone running on a separate port.  This seems to be the best of all worlds, except kind of strange to run so many brokers on a single box.  Definitely adds another element of complexity and costs more cycles…

This may never actually be a problem for me in production (on the current setup) b/c I’ll be running a cluster, so when I bring down JVM1, the other guy will just route to other brokers in the cluster.  That’s fortuitous, but also seems like an expensive and complicated solution.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

