Google stats for the past year

I recently came across Matt Cutts’s blog post about Google search stats for his blog in 2006.  I would do the same for mine, but it would be a little boring.  I’ll just tell you.  30 searches a day for “optiplex 320 fedora linux” and that’s about it 🙂

What I thought might be more interesting is to post MY personal Google stats for the past year.  If you have search history & personalized search turned on, you can see yours at http://www.google.com/psearch

I’m going to leave off all my search terms b/c that’s a little too personal.  Actually, screw it.  You all know what it looks like anyway:

1.

elgoog

2.

lost

3.

wii

4.

heroes

5.

activemq

6.

scarlett johansson

7.

jdk download

Yeah, that sums it all up pretty well, doesn’t it?

Here’s what I found more interesting:

google_stats_2006

First off, how do those numbers compare with yours?  I assume I’m in the upper crust of searches / day, but technically I have no clue where other people stand.  Leave your numbers in the comments if you want to compete.

Second, it’s pretty amazing to my that my usage has skyrocketed over the past 5 months.  Coincidence that corresponds to the length of time I’ve been at my startup?  I don’t think so.  One interesting explanation, and what I think is the hardest part about working at a startup, is that there is no one else to ask when you get stuck on a hard problem.  When working at a large company with hundreds (thousands) of programmers, you can always find lots of people much smarter than you who you can ask.  When you’re by yourself, there’s really no one to turn around and ask.  So you rely on the little search box in your browser toolbar.

That reminds me of a funny story.  I had a beer with a Google employee the other day and we were discussing this very issue.  According to him, one of the best parts about working at Google is that when he gets stuck on, say, a hard Java problem, he can just ask Josh Bloch.  Wouldn’t that be nice?

Leave a Reply

