Twittering

Some thoughts on Twitter and using it as a platform.

Reminds me of something that’s been in the back of my mind for a couple years now that I’ve never managed to move to the front of my mind.  My friend David once suggested that EVERYTHING publish an RSS feed.  Literally everything.  Like my bedroom door.  “I am open.  I am closed.  I am open.  I am closed.”   Refrigerators. Dogs*. Hospital gurneys.  Phones.  Drawers.  Everything.

I conceded very early on that I would have no idea what to do with that information.  But what’s interesting and what I’ve been trying to get my head around is exposing that data for mashups.  If everything has a feed coming off of it, and we start collecting petabytes of timestamped data about the physical world around us, who knows what will emerge?  I don’t.  That’s the point.

* I mentioned this to the dog I am currently dog-sitting for.  I asked if he wanted an RSS feed publishing every time he pooped.  Turns out he knows the word “feed” and he proceeded to guilt me into giving him some of my lunch.

Leave a Reply

