Eliminate the State drop-down box

I shop online a lot. A whole lot. And that means I have to enter my shipping and billing info a lot.

My name, credit card, address, phone, city, state, zip, and usually a password.

How come EVERY SINGLE WEB DEVELOPER insists on making one of those stupid drop-down boxes to select my state???

You trust me to enter 10 other free text fields correctly, including a 16 digit credit card, but you don’t trust me to enter my 2 digit state properly?

This whole behavior started in like 1994 when people thought it was so cool that you could make a select element in an HTML form.

Maybe if you live in Alabama (first) or Vermont (where you can press V), it’s not such a big deal.  But if you live in New York, you have to press ‘N’ five OR 6 times,  depending if it’s spelled out “New York” or “NY”.  Believe me – typing ‘NY’ is SO much faster and easier.

So consider this an open letter to every web developer our there.  Let’s eliminate the state drop down box, shall we?

2 Responses to Eliminate the State drop-down box

  1. Ha ha ! nice post. Yes a complete Re usability study needs to be commissioned to understand the whole web from a non programmer point of view.

  2. abc says:

    also, imagine how many webforms will be obsolete when we annex our next state! 51ST-bug!

Leave a Reply

