Using a Treo 700p as a USB Modem on OS X with Verizon

As I write this post, I’m in the back seat of a car driving down interstate 95.

My Treo is plugged into my Powerbook’s USB slot.

I’m currently getting about a megabit downstream and 100kb upstream. Not bad at all!

Getting things hooked up this way required a little Palm app from Mobile Stream. It costs $25 but they have a free 30 day trial. I have to say, this is pretty amazing. No more annoying wifi hotspots or lousy pay-per-hour airport terminals for me!

PS Word on the street is that Verizon’s unlimited data plan is really more like 3GB / month. I can not confirm or disconfirm this rumor, but I’m probably not going to be doing too much bit torrent over this connection…

Update: and the link.

4 Responses to Using a Treo 700p as a USB Modem on OS X with Verizon

  1. Jeff says:

    I too have a 700p with Verizon. I use their Remote Access plan which is great….when it works. Seems that the 700p has some awful issues with Bluetooth and the Mac. I have to reset the trust profile each and every time I log into verizon’s network. Verizon seems to be clueless on the situation. I hope you have less issues than I on this matter.

  2. hoist2k says:

    @Jeff: I didn’t even try to get it going with Bluetooth. I have so many problems syncing with it that I didn’t even try. So I’ve taken to carrying my USB wire around with me. It also keeps the phone charged, so that’s sort of how I justify it…

  3. dang says:

    So how did you get USBModem to work? I’ve followed all the directions and just can’t get a connection. I’ve got the Mac powerbook, USB Modem app, Treo and Verizon with the broadband connection plan. Can you elaborate on how you got it to work? Maybe I’m just missing something.

    Thanks.

  4. USB 2k says:

    Why did you use the Treo? So I solled my treo on ebay and work with an HTC Touch. I got no problems – everything works fine.

Leave a Reply

